CDC Website CDC Website

To Join the NPIN community or

Home » Ryan White HIV/AIDS Program Part C Early Intervention Services Program: New Geographic Service Areas

Ryan White HIV/AIDS Program Part C Early Intervention Services Program: New Geographic Service Areas

Under this announcement, successful applicants must provide: (1) counseling for individuals with respect to HIV; (2) targeted HIV testing; (3) periodic medical evaluations of individuals with HIV and clinical and diagnostic services for HIV care and treatment; (4) therapeutic measures for preventing and treating the deterioration of the immune system, and for preventing and treating conditions arising from HIV; and (5) referrals for people with HIV to appropriate providers of health care and support services. These services are to be provided directly or through referrals, contracts, or memoranda of understanding (MOUs).

This competition is open to current RWHAP Part C EIS recipients and new organizations proposing to provide RWHAP Part C EIS funded services in a new geographic service area(s) as described by the applicant. HRSA will fund up to 10 new service areas under this notice. For the purposes of this NOFO, a new service area is a defined geographic area with a demonstrated need for comprehensive primary health care and support services in an outpatient setting for low income underserved people with HIV not adequately covered by other sources of support. Newly proposed service areas must not geographically overlap with existing RWHAP Part C EIS service areas as defined in Appendix B of this NOFO. If you are applying for more than one service area, you must submit a separate application for each proposed service area. All allowable services must relate to HIV diagnosis, care, and support, and must adhere to established HIV clinical practice standards consistent with U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) Guidelines. Please refer to the HIV/AIDS Bureau (HAB) Policy Clarification Notice (PCN) 16-02 Ryan White HIV/AIDS Program Services for a list of RWHAP allowable core medical and support services and their descriptions. According to the RWHAP Part C legislation: • At least 50 percent of the amount received under the grant must be expended on EIS costs (except counseling and referrals/linkage to care); • At least 75 percent of the award (after reserving amounts for administrative costs, planning/evaluation, and clinical quality management (CQM)) must be expended on core medical services costs (Please note: EIS is a subset of this 75 percent of the award) and; • Not more than 10 percent of the total RWHAP Part C grant funds can be expended on administrative costs. Applicants seeking a waiver to the core medical services requirement must submit a waiver request with this application as Attachment 15.

Funding Organization
The US Department of Health and Human Services Health Resources and Services Administration
Funding Category
Other Health-Related
Support Types
Discretionary Grants
Eligible Organizations
City Agencies
Community Based Organizations
County Agencies
IRS 501 (c)(3) Organizations
Nonprofit Organizations
Public Health Departments/Social Services Departments
Religious Organizations
State Agencies
Tribal Organizations
Number of Awards Given
10 Awards
Application Due Date
Application Contact
LCDR Benoit
Mirindi, PhD., MPH
HRSA Division of Grants Management Operations, OFAM
Technical Contact
Chief, Atlantic Branch Division of Community HIV/AIDS Programs
Health Care Planning
Health Care Programs/Services
HIV/AIDS Prevention
Medical Treatments and Therapies
Technical Assistance
At Risk Persons
Community Based Organizations
Health Professionals
Health Services Organizations
Low Income Persons
Persons with HIV/AIDS

Fund Number: 


Fund ID: 


Last modified: